Sam Wong immigrated to Pictou in 1903. He began his own Chinese laundry in 1910 located on the south side of Front Street. He later opened the England Café Restaurant in the St. Julien Hotel on Water Street in 1920.
In 1798 William Lowden of Pictou launched the "Harriet", the largest and finest ship built in the province, to that time. His son, David, built this home at Braeshore in 1803. The property is known as Seaforth.
The Marine Hospital was built in 1880 on the site later occupied by the Sutherland Memorial Hospital. The one storey building was built of brick and wood with a low verandah running full length facing Beeches Road. The centre was a two storey...
Four hundred prefabs were built by Eastern Woodworkers to house the workmen and families that moved to Pictou to build the Park Ships at the shipyard. Several were moved to Trenton, New Glasgow and Stellarton by barge.