Skip to main content

You've searched:

Pictou Historical Photograph Society
  • Notes: then and now
(90 results)



Display: 20

    • 144 Air Engineering Flight Pictou County 2003

    • 144 Air Engineering Flight Pictou County 2003
    • The town's newest military force is the 144 Air Engineering Flight Pictou County, pictured here outside their headquarters at the former Patterson School in 2003 (Photo courtesy of 144 AEF Pictou County).
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • 1880s view of Water Street

    • 1880s view of Water Street
    • The 1880s view of Water Street from the Stalker building's upper floor shows the London House, also variously known as the St. Julian and Hogg's; and other store fronts on down the street. Photographer William Monro's shop is the farthest one shown.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • 2005 view of Water Street

    • 2005 view of Water Street
    • A 2005 shot from the same vantage point has a vacant lot and Stedman's V&S store where the hotel stood, but many of the other early buildings remain.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Band Stand

    • Band Stand
    • The market building was replaced by a band stand, constructed at the urging of John Stromberg, an internationally-renowned musician.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Band Stand 2005

    • Band Stand 2005
    • In 2005,. a bandstand still remains in Market Square, but it is not the same one.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Battery Hill 1880

    • Battery Hill 1880
    • This photo of Battery Hill was taken about 1880, from a spot that today would be between the railway station and the Customs House. Stella Maris is in the distance, the foundry is at the right, and the former Tobin home at the left. The railway...
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Brown's Warehouse

    • Brown's Warehouse
    • Brown's Warehouse, the tall building beyond Carson and Sons sash and door factory, was the 1916 headquarters for Canada's first and only all-black battalion, the No. 2 Construction Battalion. Prior to that the building housed the 106th Battalion,...
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Caladh Avenue

    • Caladh Avenue
    • In 2005, the site is home to a monument to black soldiers who mustered here, the railway bed has been redesigned as Caladh Avenue, and site included a public marina and restaurants.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Church and Water Streets

    • Church and Water Streets
    • Around 1900s, the western ends of Church and Water Streets met here, where a trough supplied water to weary horses.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Church Street 2005

    • Church Street 2005
    • In 2005, the old college is gone, torn down in 1932. The site, next to the fire hall, is marked with a fenced monument. Some of the 1912 homes along Church Street still stand.
    •  
    • Image/jpeg
    • Clyde Payne's store

    • Clyde Payne's store
    • A group stands outside Clyde Payne's store about 1900.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Coleraine Street 2005

    • Coleraine Street 2005
    • The same view in 2005 shows a pizzeria had recently closed in the telephone office, and there are more cars along Coleraine Street.
    •  
    • Image/jpeg
    • Coleraine Street 2005

    • Coleraine Street 2005
    • The Quebec Hotel site in 2005 shows the Prest home on the left, built in 1819 by John MacKay, and the Stalker building and the old Pictou bank, now Scotiabank, at the far end of the street.
    •  
    • Image/jpeg
    • County Council 1901

    • County Council 1901
    • The 1901 composite photo of county council has warden John D. Fraser at centre, surrounded by 23 councillors, prothonotary D. Logan, sheriff J.S. Harris, probate registrar J.D. MacLeod, deed registrar John Yorston, auditors J.A. Gordon and G.A....
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • County Council 2005

    • County Council 2005
    • Warden Allister MacDonald is shown with the 2005 county council, which meets on the top floor of what was once the county jail. (Photo courtesy of the County of Pictou)
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Customs House

    • Customs House
    • A windmill and small hill were cleared away to build the Pictou Customs House in 1874. It was equipped with a tower and signal lights, later removed.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Customs House

    • Customs House
    • A windmill and small hill were cleared away to build the Pictou Customs House in 1874. It was equipped by a tower and signal lights, later removed.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • Customs House

    • Customs House
    • Today the Customs House is an inn with a good view of dockyard activity.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg
    • deCoste Centre

    • deCoste Centre
    • The deCoste Entertainment Centre was built on the old rink site in 1982.
    • Pictou Historical Photograph Society Collection
    • Image/jpeg

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
on off
 

Layout options:

Thumbnail with title
Grid with smaller thumbnails and more detail
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK